1. Du är här:
  2. Fysikum
  3. About

The Oskar Klein Centre

The Oskar Klein Centre for Cosmoparticle Physics, OKC, is named after the late outstanding theoretical physicist from Stockholm University, and is one of the most prominent research centres in Stockholm. OKC presently comprises more than 100 scientists from the Departments of Physics and Astronomy of Stockholm University (SU) and The Department of Physics at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), to compare with some 70 scientists in september 2008 when the centre was formed. It is based at the Physics Department at SU.
During the first 5 years, the Linnaeus grant (a unique 10-year grant provided by the Swedish Research Council, VR) has funded some 20 postdoctoral researchers (with a large proportion of females) who have made several areas of astrophysics, cosmology, particle and astroparticle physics blossom. The Centre is now entering a consolidation phase with a larger fraction of funding spent on senior researchers and seeding new projects. The main research themes are the mysterious components of the energy budget of the universe – dark matter and dark energy – as well as early galaxy formation and evolution, and the study of the physics of the most extreme objects such as black holes, neutron stars, supernovae and gamma-ray bursts, in the universe. Key methods for advancing knowledge in these fields are theoretical physics and astrophysics, and involvement in world-class experimental and observational facilities operated as international collaborations, e.g. the neutrino telescope IceCube at the South Pole, the PAMELA satellite for antimatter measurements, the gamma-ray experiments Fermi-LAT and HESS, the ATLAS particle physics experiment at CERN, the giant radio array LOFAR, the transient-sensitive iPTF telescope and the Hubble Space Telescope and Europe’s Very Large Telescopes (VLT) in Chile.
The OKC International Advisory Board declared in August 2013 “The Oskar Klein Centre has matured into a world-class research institute, with a high international impact”. (This can be further verified by bibliometric studies). Scientists at the Centre enjoy a large palette of supporting activities like weekly OKC Colloquia, biweekly Working Group meetings, OKC-day gatherings every term, monthly cross-disciplinary science pubs, and contact with the general public during special outreach events.!


The Centre is an independent entity of the Faculty with a Steering Group appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of the university.


The OKC Steering Group consists of:

Ariel Goobar, Physics Department (CoPS), SU , Chair

Garrelt Mellema, Astronomy Department, SU, vice-chair

Christophe Clement, Physics Department (ATLAS), SU

Jan Conrad, Physics Department (CoPS), SU

Chad Finley, Physics Department (IceCube), SU

Edvard Mörtsell, Physics Department (CoPS), SU

Stephan Rosswog, Astronomy Department, SU

Felix Ryde, Physics Department, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)

Sara Strandberg, Physics Department (ATLAS), SU

Jesper Sollerman, Astronomy Department, SU

Bo Sundborg, Physics Department (CoPS), SU

Adjoint members

Serena Nobili, Physics department, SU - secretary of the meetings

The International Advisory Board consists of:

Katherine Freese, NORDITA / Stockholm University

Wolfgang Hillebrandt, Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching

Hugh Montgomery, Jefferson Laboratory, Newport News, VA

John Peacock, Royal Observatory of Edinburgh

Bengt Gustafsson, Uppsala (adjoint member)

Larus Thorlacius, University of Iceland/Stockholm University (adjoint member)